Skip to main content

Celtic Insurance Company (Oklahoma) in-network claim denial rate: 24.0%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2026, Celtic Insurance Company reported denying 438,378 of 1,824,797 in-network claims (24.0%) in Oklahoma, from 2024 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 2nd highest reported rate of 7 ranked issuers in Oklahoma; the state median is 22.9%.

Denial rate
24.0%
438,378 of 1,824,797 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
n/a of 446 filed
External review overturned
n/a
not reported

Prior file (plan year 2025, 2023 claims): denial rate 21.3% (170,942 of 803,944); appeal overturn rate 34.8%.

Compared with Oklahoma and the national median

MeasureCeltic Insurance CompanyOklahoma medianNational median
In-network denial rate24.0%22.9%19.0%
In-network claims received1,824,797β€”β€”
Internal appeals filed446β€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a28.5%37.7%
External reviews filedn/aβ€”β€”
External review overturn raten/a0.0%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate12.3%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (Oklahoma: 7 issuers; national: 158 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2026 file, 2024 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2026 file carries 2024 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2026; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://www.ambetterhealth.com/en/ok/resources/handbooks-forms/transparency-notice-2026.

If Celtic Insurance Company denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Compare this issuer

Plans in this filing (21)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
62505OK0120002PPOBronze54,598
62505OK0120006PPOBronze2,285
62505OK0120012PPOSilver42,186
62505OK0120014PPOGold2,055
62505OK0120016PPOGold1,806
62505OK0120019PPOBronze47,928
62505OK0120020PPOSilver70,884
62505OK0120021PPOGold431
62505OK0120022PPOSilvern/a
62505OK0120023PPOSilvern/a
62505OK0120024PPOSilvern/a
62505OK0130002PPOBronze5,758
62505OK0130006PPOBronze614
62505OK0130012PPOSilver12,639
62505OK0130014PPOGold1,146
62505OK0130017PPOGold839
62505OK0130019PPOBronze2,624
62505OK0130021PPOGold165
62505OK0130023PPOSilvern/a
62505OK0130024PPOSilvern/a
62505OK0130025PPOSilvern/a

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in Celtic Insurance Company's 24.0% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2024 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2024 when the file is for plan year 2026?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my Celtic Insurance Company claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in Oklahoma. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the Oklahoma median (22.9%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a Celtic Insurance Company denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, Celtic Insurance Company (Oklahoma), plan year 2026, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.