Skip to main content

Celtic Insurance Company (Missouri) in-network claim denial rate: 18.8%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2026, Celtic Insurance Company reported denying 1,113,385 of 5,919,313 in-network claims (18.8%) in Missouri, from 2024 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 6th highest reported rate of 8 ranked issuers in Missouri; the state median is 19.9%.

Denial rate
18.8%
1,113,385 of 5,919,313 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
not reported
External review overturned
0.0%
0 of 0 filed

Prior file (plan year 2025, 2023 claims): denial rate 13.4% (749,839 of 5,605,715); appeal overturn rate 0.0%.

Compared with Missouri and the national median

MeasureCeltic Insurance CompanyMissouri medianNational median
In-network denial rate18.8%19.9%19.0%
In-network claims received5,919,313β€”β€”
Internal appeals filedn/aβ€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a35.4%37.7%
External reviews filed0β€”β€”
External review overturn rate0.0%0.0%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate23.3%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (Missouri: 8 issuers; national: 158 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2026 file, 2024 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2026 file carries 2024 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2026; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://www.ambetterhealth.com/en/mo/resources/handbooks-forms/transparency-notice-2026.

If Celtic Insurance Company denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Compare this issuer

Plans in this filing (17)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
99723MO0090011EPOSilver90,147
99723MO0090016EPOGold7,697
99723MO0090018EPOBronze89,826
99723MO0090020EPOSilvern/a
99723MO0090053EPOBronze77,552
99723MO0090063EPOGold12,069
99723MO0090069EPOBronze53,839
99723MO0090070EPOSilver369,808
99723MO0090071EPOGold11,457
99723MO0110009EPOBronze17,204
99723MO0110010EPOGold4,464
99723MO0110013EPOSilver23,578
99723MO0110027EPOSilvern/a
99723MO0110053EPOBronze5,059
99723MO0110063EPOGold6,204
99723MO0110070EPOBronze7,313
99723MO0110072EPOGold1,799

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in Celtic Insurance Company's 18.8% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2024 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2024 when the file is for plan year 2026?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my Celtic Insurance Company claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in Missouri. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the Missouri median (19.9%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a Celtic Insurance Company denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, Celtic Insurance Company (Missouri), plan year 2026, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.