Skip to main content

Absolute Total Care, Inc (South Carolina) in-network claim denial rate: 18.3%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2026, Absolute Total Care, Inc reported denying 1,471,467 of 8,043,578 in-network claims (18.3%) in South Carolina, from 2024 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 4th highest reported rate of 5 ranked issuers in South Carolina; the state median is 20.1%.

Denial rate
18.3%
1,471,467 of 8,043,578 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
n/a of 1,299 filed
External review overturned
n/a
not reported

Prior file (plan year 2025, 2023 claims): denial rate 14.7% (594,074 of 4,035,452); appeal overturn rate 50.3%.

Compared with South Carolina and the national median

MeasureAbsolute Total Care, IncSouth Carolina medianNational median
In-network denial rate18.3%20.1%19.0%
In-network claims received8,043,578β€”β€”
Internal appeals filed1,299β€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a48.5%37.7%
External reviews filedn/aβ€”β€”
External review overturn raten/a0.0%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate12.6%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (South Carolina: 5 issuers; national: 158 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2026 file, 2024 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2026 file carries 2024 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2026; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://www.ambetterhealth.com/en/sc/resources/handbooks-forms/transparency-notice-2026.

If Absolute Total Care, Inc denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Compare this issuer

Plans in this filing (17)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
79222SC0010011HMOBronze97,491
79222SC0010017HMOSilvern/a
79222SC0010022HMOBronze164,341
79222SC0010025HMOSilver77,161
79222SC0010026HMOGold9,737
79222SC0010029HMOGold5,888
79222SC0010031HMOBronze37,348
79222SC0010032HMOSilver334,126
79222SC0010033HMOGold3,548
79222SC0020011HMOBronze12,030
79222SC0020022HMOBronze5,720
79222SC0020025HMOSilver40,197
79222SC0020026HMOGold6,602
79222SC0020030HMOGold4,282
79222SC0020031HMOBronze4,340
79222SC0020032HMOSilver49,060
79222SC0020033HMOGold1,496

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in Absolute Total Care, Inc's 18.3% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2024 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2024 when the file is for plan year 2026?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my Absolute Total Care, Inc claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in South Carolina. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the South Carolina median (20.1%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a Absolute Total Care, Inc denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, Absolute Total Care, Inc (South Carolina), plan year 2026, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.