Skip to main content

HealthPartners Insurance Company (Wisconsin) in-network claim denial rate: 6.6%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2025, HealthPartners Insurance Company reported denying 24,127 of 363,667 in-network claims (6.6%) in Wisconsin, from 2023 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 13th highest reported rate of 13 ranked issuers in Wisconsin; the state median is 10.3%.

Denial rate
6.6%
24,127 of 363,667 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
n/a of 13 filed
External review overturned
n/a
not reported

Prior file (plan year 2024, 2022 claims): denial rate 6.4% (19,972 of 313,587); appeal overturn rate n/a.

Compared with Wisconsin and the national median

MeasureHealthPartners Insurance CompanyWisconsin medianNational median
In-network denial rate6.6%10.3%18.3%
In-network claims received363,667β€”β€”
Internal appeals filed13β€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a49.4%41.7%
External reviews filedn/aβ€”β€”
External review overturn raten/a0.0%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate10.3%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (Wisconsin: 13 issuers; national: 176 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2025 file, 2023 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2025 file carries 2023 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2025; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://www.healthpartners.com/ifclaims.

If HealthPartners Insurance Company denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Plans in this filing (18)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
20173WI0130001PPOGold577
20173WI0130011PPOGold147
20173WI0130020PPOGold2,837
20173WI0130021PPOSilver1,936
20173WI0130023PPOBronze1,521
20173WI0130025PPOCatastrophic45
20173WI0130026PPOSilver2,876
20173WI0130027PPOBronze5,892
20173WI0130033PPOSilver133
20173WI0130034PPOSilver313
20173WI0130035PPOBronze324
20173WI0130036PPOBronze242
20173WI0130037PPOSilver187
20173WI0130038PPOBronze1,018
20173WI0130039PPOCatastrophic17
20173WI0130040PPOGold472
20173WI0130041PPOSilver1,176
20173WI0130042PPOBronze476

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in HealthPartners Insurance Company's 6.6% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2023 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2023 when the file is for plan year 2025?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my HealthPartners Insurance Company claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in Wisconsin. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the Wisconsin median (10.3%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a HealthPartners Insurance Company denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, HealthPartners Insurance Company (Wisconsin), plan year 2025, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.