Skip to main content

Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin (Wisconsin) in-network claim denial rate: 8.9%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2026, Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin reported denying 18,470 of 207,372 in-network claims (8.9%) in Wisconsin, from 2024 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 9th highest reported rate of 12 ranked issuers in Wisconsin; the state median is 10.8%.

Denial rate
8.9%
18,470 of 207,372 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
not reported
External review overturned
n/a
not reported

Prior file (plan year 2025, 2023 claims): denial rate 8.4% (20,516 of 243,212); appeal overturn rate n/a.

Compared with Wisconsin and the national median

MeasureGroup Health Cooperative of South Central WisconsinWisconsin medianNational median
In-network denial rate8.9%10.8%19.0%
In-network claims received207,372β€”β€”
Internal appeals filedn/aβ€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a48.7%37.7%
External reviews filedn/aβ€”β€”
External review overturn raten/a0.0%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate29.1%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (Wisconsin: 12 issuers; national: 158 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2026 file, 2024 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2026 file carries 2024 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2026; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://ghcscw.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/2026-QHP-Transparency-in-Coverage.pdf.

If Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Compare this issuer

Plans in this filing (21)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
94529WI0240019HMOBronze70
94529WI0240022HMOPlatinumn/a
94529WI0240023HMOGoldn/a
94529WI0240024HMOGoldn/a
94529WI0240025HMOSilvern/a
94529WI0240026HMOSilvern/a
94529WI0240027HMOBronzen/a
94529WI0240028HMOBronzen/a
94529WI0240054HMOPlatinum2,047
94529WI0240057HMOSilver69
94529WI0240058HMOSilver534
94529WI0240061HMOGold913
94529WI0240063HMOGold1,185
94529WI0240073HMOGold784
94529WI0240074HMOSilver39
94529WI0240075HMOBronze135
94529WI0240077HMOPlatinum647
94529WI0240078HMOGold671
94529WI0240079HMOSilver467
94529WI0240080HMOBronze363
94529WI0240083HMOBronze117

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin's 8.9% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2024 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2024 when the file is for plan year 2026?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in Wisconsin. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the Wisconsin median (10.8%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin (Wisconsin), plan year 2026, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.