Skip to main content

Celtic Insurance Company (Delaware) in-network claim denial rate: 28.2%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2026, Celtic Insurance Company reported denying 6,979 of 24,728 in-network claims (28.2%) in Delaware, from 2024 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 1st highest reported rate of 3 ranked issuers in Delaware; the state median is 28.0%.

Denial rate
28.2%
6,979 of 24,728 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
not reported
External review overturned
0.0%
0 of 0 filed

Prior file (plan year 2025, 2023 claims): denial rate n/a (0 of 0); appeal overturn rate n/a.

Compared with Delaware and the national median

MeasureCeltic Insurance CompanyDelaware medianNational median
In-network denial rate28.2%28.0%19.0%
In-network claims received24,728β€”β€”
Internal appeals filedn/aβ€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a37.9%37.7%
External reviews filed0β€”β€”
External review overturn rate0.0%0.0%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate32.7%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (Delaware: 3 issuers; national: 158 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2026 file, 2024 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2026 file carries 2024 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2026; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://www.ambetterhealth.com/en/de/resources/handbooks-forms/transparency-notice-2026.

If Celtic Insurance Company denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Plans in this filing (17)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
64004DE0090001EPOBronze1,264
64004DE0090002EPOBronze1,771
64004DE0090004EPOBronze826
64004DE0090007EPOSilver154
64004DE0090008EPOSilver512
64004DE0090009EPOGold0
64004DE0090011EPOGold22
64004DE0090012EPOGoldn/a
64004DE0090013EPOSilvern/a
64004DE0100001EPOBronzen/a
64004DE0100002EPOBronze316
64004DE0100004EPOBronze188
64004DE0100007EPOSilver345
64004DE0100009EPOGold33
64004DE0100011EPOGold44
64004DE0100012EPOGold0
64004DE0100013EPOSilvern/a

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in Celtic Insurance Company's 28.2% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2024 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2024 when the file is for plan year 2026?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my Celtic Insurance Company claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in Delaware. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the Delaware median (28.0%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a Celtic Insurance Company denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, Celtic Insurance Company (Delaware), plan year 2026, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.