Skip to main content

Select Health of South Carolina (South Carolina) in-network claim denial rate: 42.8%

In the CMS Transparency in Coverage file for plan year 2025, Select Health of South Carolina reported denying 26,256 of 61,346 in-network claims (42.8%) in South Carolina, from 2023 claims. Appeal counts were not reported. That is the 1st highest reported rate of 4 ranked issuers in South Carolina; the state median is 22.1%.

Denial rate
42.8%
26,256 of 61,346 claims
Appeals overturned
n/a
not reported
External review overturned
0.0%
0 of 0 filed

Compared with South Carolina and the national median

MeasureSelect Health of South CarolinaSouth Carolina medianNational median
In-network denial rate42.8%22.1%18.3%
In-network claims received61,346β€”β€”
Internal appeals filedn/aβ€”β€”
Internal appeal overturn raten/a45.6%41.7%
External reviews filed0β€”β€”
External review overturn rate0.0%17.7%0.0%
Out-of-network denial rate57.0%β€”β€”

Medians are across issuers with at least 1,000 in-network claims received in the same file (South Carolina: 4 issuers; national: 176 issuers in 32 states). Plan year 2025 file, 2023 claims.

Read these numbers carefully
  • Reporting lag: the CMS public-use file for a plan year reports claims from two plan years earlier (the PY2025 file carries 2023 claims). These are not this year's figures.
  • In-network only: the denial rate is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received. Out-of-network claims are shown separately where the issuer reported them.
  • "Denied" is broad: CMS counts every denial, including administrative denials, duplicate submissions, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions.
  • Issuer level: CMS reports the counts once per issuer per state and repeats them on every plan row; plan-level counts, where present, list denials only, so no per-plan rate is computed.
  • Coverage: only issuers on the federally facilitated marketplace (HealthCare.gov states) report to this file. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid are not included.
  • No inference of intent: a higher rate can reflect the issuer's mix of claims, its billing rules or its membership as much as its coverage decisions. Compare with the state median and read the N.

Source: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (Health Insurance Exchange PUFs), plan year 2025; data dictionary. Issuer's own claims-payment policy page: https://www.firstchoicenext.com/transparency-in-coverage-2025.aspx.

If Select Health of South Carolina denied your claim

A denial is a decision you can contest. Marketplace plans must give you at least 180 days to file an internal appeal and offer independent external review after it (45 CFR 147.136). The letter states your deadline.

Plans in this filing (8)

Where CMS lists plan-level denial counts they are shown; no plan-level rate is computed because the file does not give plan-level claims received.

Plan IDTypeMetalPlan-level denials (in-network)
73107SC0010001HMOBronze5,047
73107SC0010002HMOBronze1,332
73107SC0010003HMOSilver19,388
73107SC0010004HMOGold489
73107SC0010006HMOBronzen/a
73107SC0010007HMOSilvern/a
73107SC0010008HMOSilvern/a
73107SC0010009HMOGoldn/a

Questions

What counts as a "denied" claim in Select Health of South Carolina's 42.8% rate?

Every in-network claim the issuer reported as denied in the 2023 claims year, including administrative denials, duplicates, ineligibility, incorrect billing and partial denials, not only medical-necessity decisions. The figure is in-network claims denied divided by in-network claims received, exactly as reported to CMS.

Why is the data from 2023 when the file is for plan year 2025?

CMS's Transparency in Coverage public use file for a plan year reports claims data from two plan years earlier. This is the most recent issuer-level denial data CMS publishes for marketplace plans.

Does this predict whether my Select Health of South Carolina claim will be denied?

No. It is an aggregate across all of the issuer's marketplace plans in South Carolina. Your own claim depends on your plan, the service and the documentation. Compare the rate with the South Carolina median (22.1%) and read the N before drawing conclusions.

How do I appeal a Select Health of South Carolina denial?

Read the denial letter for the reason and the deadline, request the criteria and the claim file in writing, and file an internal appeal (at least 180 days on marketplace plans under 45 CFR 147.136). If the internal appeal fails, independent external review is available.

Ask an AI assistant about this page:ChatGPTPerplexityGoogle AIClaudeOpens in a new tab with a question about this page. Nothing about you is sent.

Cite: Apellica Insurer Denial Report Cards, Select Health of South Carolina (South Carolina), plan year 2025, from the CMS Transparency in Coverage PUF. CC BY 4.0. Download the full table as CSV or read the methodology. Corrections: editorial@apellica.com.